miércoles, 24 de diciembre de 2008

NANCY'S LIFE

My name is Esperanza but everybody knows me as Nancy. My name was a disagreement between my father and my mother: he called me Esperanza but she didn’t like it and she decided to call me Nancy. My name is not very common in Spain and people always ask me where my name comes from. Moreover, Nancy is the name of a popular doll and people are always joking about that. When I was a child the other kids joked about it and it made me angry but now I do not mind, I even think that some jokes can be funny.
I am the youngest of four siblings; I have two sisters and one brother (Ana, Jose and Esther). We grew up in Cas Serres, a small working-class neighbourhood of Ibiza. There we could play in the street and we usually did; we played hide and seek, hopscotch and other games. Nowadays Cas Serres has changed a lot and there people from very different places. Maybe Cas Serres is not the best place to live now but I have really good memories of my neighbourhood and people. In fact I still have some friends from there who are my best friends.
I went to Primary school in Cas Serres School which, in my opinion, was a very good school where there were excellent teachers. They always encourage me to continue studying and I am very fond of all of them.
As I was a good student I decided to continue with my studies and I did my secondary education at Blanca Dona High School. This period of my life was really fun because I met a lot of people and we went to a lot of parties. I had an amusing social life but very bad marks so I had to repeat the last year of secondary level and I didn’t do the university entrance examination. When I finally finished secondary education I started working in a shop. I worked working for two years in Mango but I didn’t like my job so I decided to leave the island and I went to Granada, where I lived with a friend for two years. Finally, due to financial troubles, I had to came back to Ibiza.
Once I arrived on the island I continued my studies and started to work in a bar at weekends. In 2004 I finished studying “Environmental Health” and I was hired by Goldservice where worked for two years.
Nowadays I am working in PIMEEF and I am studying to become a teacher. I think that I am living the best period of my life because I am studying something that I like and I have a good job. Moreover, I have a good project for next summer: I have asked for a grant to go to Peru and work in a school.there I think that it will be a great experience for me, for my life and my studies.
I don’t know what I am going to do in the future. I don’t know if I will stay in PIMEEf or I will work as a teacher. That is something that I will decide when the time comes.